I Hate Labels

Everyone seems to come with a label these days and it bugs the crap out of me. Why can’t we just be ourselves, act like ourselves, respond to things in our own fashion, take things at our own pace…without being judged or labeled? I hate it! There, I just judged…

What kind of art do you do? I paint. Sometimes I draw. I use acrylic, sometimes watercolor. I use ink. And colored pencil. And pastel. Sometimes I throw in a gel medium. I create on paper and on paper’s ancestor, wood. Well, what kind of artist are you? Abstract, realism, surrealist, pop art, impressionism, contemporary? Well? What is your specialty?? What are you??? !

I can’t categorize myself. I’m a little bit of a lot of things. I’m definitely a graphic designer first because all my work shows the bold lines, shapes and colors that I’m attracted to. I recreate the sun and surf and most of nature the way I see it in my eyes. It’s my story and I’m sticking to it. Go ahead and judge. Or label me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“Sea Angel” – pure colored pencil.
Print3
“Curl” – acrylic, ink & gel medium on wood panel.
print1
And this is just a plain ol’ untitled ink sketch on it’s way to being a finished creation someday.

The haters and the traditionalists (look, I’m labeling…) will say I don’t know what I am, or who I am. I don’t have a genre or a tag for my style. I do too many things with too many mediums on too many surfaces. Ha! To them!

Hey, ease up, ok! I’m an artist who loves bold lines and color and interpreting nature my way. So send me your labels of what you think my art is, if you so desire.

Did I also mention I’m a photographer too?? Oooo what type? Landscape? Street??Portrait???…….ugh…….

 

Leave a Reply

